About Us Publications In the News Health Resources Support JIWH
Home GO
Affiliated Faculty
Milken Institute School of Public Health
Medical Faculty Associates / School of Medicine & Health Sciences/ School of Nursing
Global Women's Institute
Columbian College of Arts & Sciences
Law School


Jacobs Institute of Women's Health
Milken Institute School of Public Health
The George Washington University
950 New Hampshire Ave., NW, 6th Floor
Washington, DC  20052
Liz Borkowski, MPH
Managing Director


Women's Health Issues > Gibbs Leadership Prize

Women’s Health Issues Awards 2013 Gibbs Leadership Prize to Study Linking Combat Deployment and Sexual Harassment or Assault

The Editorial Board of Women’s Health Issues is pleased to announce that the Charles E. Gibbs Leadership Prize for the best paper published in Women's Health Issues in 2013 (Volume 23) has been awarded to Cynthia A. LeardMann, MPH, Senior Epidemiologist for the Deployment Health Research Department at the Naval Health Research Center in San Diego, CA.  LeardMann's manuscript, “Combat Deployment is Associated with Sexual Harassment or Sexual Assault in a Large, Female Military Cohort,” was co-authored by Amanda Pietrucha, MPH; Kathryn M. Magruder, MPH, PhD; Besa Smith, MPH, PhD; Maureen Murdoch, MD, MPH; Isabel G. Jacobson, MPH; Margaret A.K. Ryan, MD, MPH; Gary Gackstetter, DVM, MPH, PhD; Tyler C. Smith, MS, PhD; and the Millennium Cohort Study Team. The manuscript was published in Women's Health Issues Volume 23, Issue 4 (July/August 2013), pages e215–e223.

In the study, LeardMann and her colleagues used data from the Millennium Cohort Study on 13,262 female US service members who completed baseline questionnaires between 2001 and 2003 and follow-up questionnaires between 2004 and 2006. When asked at follow-up about experiencing sexual harassment or assault over the previous three years, 9.4% of the participants reported experiencing sexual harassment, and 2.1% reported experiencing sexual assault. The researchers found that women who deployed and reported combat experiences were significantly more likely than those not deployed to report sexual harassment or the combination of sexual harassment and sexual assault. They also identified several significant risk factors for experiencing sexual harassment or assault, including younger age, recent separation or divorce, and service in the Marine Corps.

“The recent change to open positions to women whose primary mission is to engage in direct combat is likely to increase the numbers of women serving in combat roles and those deployed with combat,” LeardMann and her colleagues wrote. “Therefore, it is critical, now more than ever, to evaluate ways to prevent and eliminate sexual stressors in these environments that are associated with increased risk of sexual stressors.” Identifying factors that contribute to sexual assault and harassment is an essential first step in designing interventions to reduce them.

The Women’s Health Issues Editorial Board also designated two excellent manuscripts in 2013 to receive “Honorable Mention" recognition:

  • “Human Papillomavirus Vaccine Coverage Among Females Aged 11 to 17 in Texas Counties: An Application of Multilevel, Small Area Estimation” by Jan M. Eberth, PhD; Md Monir Hossain, PhD; Jasmin A. Tiro, PhD; Xingyou Zhang, PhD; James B. Holt, PhD; and Sally W. Vernon, PhD. Published in Volume 23, Issue 2 (March/April), pages e131–e141.
  • “At What Cost? Payment for Abortion Care by U.S. Women” by Rachel K. Jones, PhD; Ushma D. Upadhyay, PhD, MPH; and Tracy A. Weitz, PhD, MPA. Published in Volume 23, Issue 3 (May/June), pages e173–e178.
The Charles E. Gibbs Leadership Prize is awarded annually to recognize excellence in research on women's health care or policy. Priority is given to manuscripts that report the results of original research and that improve understanding of an important women's health issue. Members of the staff and Editorial Board of Women's Health Issues are not eligible. The prize includes a $1,000 award.

Free full-text PDFs of all three of these articles (and past winners) can be downloaded by clicking on the links at the bottom of this screen.

Previous winners of the Gibbs Prize include:

Nathan L. Hale, PhD (2012)

Jacqueline L. Angel, PhD (2011)

Diana Greene Foster, PhD (2010)

Paula Lantz, PhD (2009)

Sherry Glied, PhD (2008)

Richard C. Lindrooth, PhD (2007)

Joan S. Tucker, PhD (2006)

JiWon R. Lee, MS, RD, MPH (2005)

Dawn M. Upchurch, PhD (2004)

Sherry L. Grace, PhD (2003)

Sarah Hudson Scholle, DrPH (2002)

Sandra K. Pope, PhD (2001)

Ilene Hyman, PhD (2000)

Usha Sambamaoorthi, PhD (1999)

Claire Murphy, MD (1997)

Barbara A. Bartman, MD, MPH (1996)

The Charles E. Gibbs Leadership Prize was established to honor the founding President of the Board of Governors of the Jacobs Institute of Women Health.  Charles E. Gibbs, MD (1923-2000) was a Fellow of the American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) and past chair of ACOG’s Committee on Health Care for Underserved Women, the Task Force on the Voluntary Review of Quality of Care, the Health Care Commission, and the Task Force on Maternal Health Policy.  Dr. Gibbs served on the Jacobs Institute of Women Health Board of Governors from 1990-1999 and was instrumental in shaping the Institute’s mission and structure.

LeardMann et al Gibbs Prize 2013

Eberth et al Honorable Mention 2013

Jones et al Honorable Mention 2013

Hale et al - Gibbs Prize, 2012

Johantgen et al - Honorable Mention, 2012

Katon et al - Honorable Mention, 2012

Kozhimannil et al - Honorable Mention, 2012

Angel et al - Gibbs Prize 2011

Humphreys et al - Honorable Mention 2011

Prickett & Angel - Honorable Mention 2011

Foster et al Gibbs Prize 2010

Perkins et al Honorable Mention 2010

Smith et al Honorable Mention 2010

Lantz Article - Gibbs Prize 2009

 Women's Health Issues  Women's Health & Policy Updates  News  Support Women's Health

About Us | Publications | In the News | Health Resources | Support JIWH | Site Map